Yoga Retreat
Advanced Yoga Study ( By Swami Dharmananda
yoga book   yoga book
Learn more about Yoga through inner research at Rishikesh, the world capital of yoga with an intensive 200-hour teachers training course conducted by Nagesh Acharya. Join Ajarya Yoga Academy.

that, in the path of salvation the chief obstacles are our own desire, anger, greed and ignorance and we can overcome them through the grace of the Divine Mother if we sincerely love adore and worship Her. The book gives a beautiful description of the three aspects of the Mother as Mahakaali, Mahalakshmi and Mahasarasvati- the Tamasic, the Rajasic and the Sattvic aspects of the Divine Mother. 

Hindu Trinity or Cosmic Deities 
Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva are the three cosmic Deities. The Hindu trinity. They are the first created beings. They are created by the Divine Mother. They are the personification of the three gunas of Nature. Rajas is Brahma, Sattva is Vishnu and Tamas is Shiva. These Deities are the creator, preserver and the destroyer of the universe. Sarasvati, Lakshmi and Parvati are the shaktis or wives of these Deities. They are manifestations of the Divine Mother. Sarasvati is the Goddess of learning. Lakshmi is the Goddess of wealth. Parvati or Uma is the bliss-bestowing Goddess. 

Governing Deities 
In Svara Loka or the lower mental plane or Heaven, certain higher beings called, ‘Devatas' have a governing role. They are in charge of natural forces and take care of their maintenance. They act as God's representatives in maintaining the universal order. Their lives and human lives are interdependent. They grow and prosper with food offered to them by the humans and they in turn see to it that the humans get their needs fulfilled. There are Elemental deities. They are in charge of the five elements. Vayu devata or wind god and Agni devata or fire god is very popular. There are planetary deities of which Surya devata or Sun god is well known. These deities are providers of human needs. The Vedas give us methods to invoke them and seek their blessings or help. Indra the king of heaven is the Lord of all these Deities. The interaction between the humans and these Deities are not very much appreciated at the present moment but as we move on in the higher Dwapara yuga these interactions and interdependency will become better appreciated. Humans can have children through them, can have knowledge imparted by them, can have all their difficulties removed by them. 

Ganesha is the son of Shiva and Parvati. He is the first Deity to be worshipped in Hindu tradition. He is the remover of all obstacles. His image or photo is always placed at the entrance to a house or ashram. In the human body he resides at the mooladhara chakra. He guards the entrance to the sushumna. 


yoga book   yoga book
Go To Page #

You do not have permission to sell or distribute or reproduce Health and Yoga Reading Room text or any portion of the text in any form (printed, electronic or otherwise).To do so is a violation of copyright law

The COMPLETE 'Advanced Yoga Study' Book also includes exhaustive chapter on Hatha Yoga practices and Asanas AND Objective Tests to help you evaluate your body composition.

PDF Copy : US$ 7.95Click here to Buy Advanced Yoga Study

Advanced Yoga Study US$ 19.95Click here to Buy Advanced Yoga Study

   © Copyright 2000 - 2018, All rights reserved Disclaimer
Login close
Forget Password