Print this Article Print this report
Health And Yoga News Letter

Patanjali Yoga Sutras

InfoPlace Home > Yoga Articles > Read Yoga Articles > Yoga Sutras > Patanjali Yoga Sutra
Patanjali Yoga Sutra

Etenabhutendriyesu dharma laksanavastha parinama vyakhyatah.

Eten = by this; bhut = (in) the elements; endriyesu= in the sense organs; dharma = property; laksana character; avastha = condition; parinama = transformations, changes; vyakhatah = are explained.

By this (by what has been said in the last four Sutras) the property, character, and condition-transformations in the elements and the sense organs are also explained.

While perceiving an object three things are involved: the object (element, bhuta), the sense organ (indriya) and the mind (chitta). In last few sutra we saw three types of parinama (transformation) of chitta viz Nirodha, Samadhi and Ekagrata Parinamas. Correspondingly, properties and characters (Dharma and Lakshna) of elements (Bhutas) and sense organs (Indriyas) are transformed by the will of a yogi. This is how, by power of manipulation, by going to subtler and subtler levels (various stages or Awasthas) he acquires various siddhis.

Sutras like this in Vibhuti Pada are more related to the explanation of siddhis than to Sadhana. A lay sadhaka is more concerned about the practice, the Sadhana. Actual significance of these sutras and the deeper and clear knowledge of the same is revealed to him in the higher states of consciousness.

This article appears in the Yoga Magazine, Yoga Sudha August, 1997 edition. This article has been published courtesy

If you feel inspired by this article, feel free to publish it in your Newsletter or on your Website. Our humble request is to please include the Resource Box as follows:

Courtesy: A popular website that helps you find natural solutions for complete health and detoxification.

Discover health and beauty…. Naturally!!

© 2001 Health and Yoga