InfoPlace Home > Yoga Articles > Read Yoga Articles > Psychological Articles > Science of Soul
Health And Yoga News Letters
Science of Soul

By RV Iyer

The physical appearance of life is found to be in the breath of human being. The breath normally flows in either nostril at an interval of ninety minutes. As long as the material parts of the body are in condition, they expand and shrink causing breath. This is due to the energy centralized in the body just above the root and outside of the spinal cord. This is the primordial energy which remains dormant until it is awakened by yoga. As long as it is dormant, only a small percentage of energy works in human beings branching out into two channels as Solar energy which flows in the right nostril and and Lunar energy in the left nostril. Both these energies travel through the respective channels representing physical and mental energies.

The energy flows in the central channel Sushumna four times a day normally. These times are called Sandhyas. The times corresponding to such Sandhyas are early morning when the sun rises, mid day, at the time of sunset and at midnight. Meditation is recommended preferably just before these times for this reason. This does not mean meditation cannot be done in other times. One can practice it as per one's convenience. The flow of energy in the central channel also happens when one is deep into concentration. Similarly, this energy flows in the central channel when one is having sex and at the height of the act.

The central channel called Sushumna has again one more Naadi inside which is called Chitra. Chitra engulfs another Naadi called Brahma Naadi. This Brahma Naadi is the exact Naadi on which Yogis concentrate. Concentration on Sushumna alone can lead to concentration on Brahma Naadi. We need not go into details as these articles are meant for beginners and intermediate practitioners.

In this Central Channels are the Charkras or the centers of energy. Though some of the recent experiments in Japan and Russia have confirmed the existence of such energy centers, yet they cannot be confronted or seen physically. These are visible only through the eyes of a Yogi. In advance meditation practice, for some practitioners these energy centers automatically come into vision in the center of their forehead.

In the Tantric texts six such Chakras or Shat Chakras are mentioned. These are: Mooladhara, Swadhishtana, Manipoora, Anahata, Visuddhi, Ajna and above these six there is another one called Sahasrara.

Mooladhara is at the end of the spine from where three channels originate. Here the energy starts to flow up. All the basic human natures come out of this place.

Swadhishtana is just one inch above the Mooladhara Chakra. This is the place for the Ego or the feeling of self which is hence called swadhishtana.

Manipoora is exactly behind the naval in the spinal cord. In this Chakra both the mind and Chitha or the impressions and vasanas are installed.

Anahata is in the center of the heart slightly at the right side and it is here the feelings and sensations are situated.

Visuddhi is at the place of the thyroids below the neck. There is a special Naadi just below this Chakra which is responsible for dreaming.

Ajna is in the centre of the forehead in between the two eyes. This charka has the capacity to command all the functions and hence is called Ajna. During meditation if there is no peculiar desire to concentrate on any other centre, it is better to concentrate on this centre rather than coming up concentrating from Mooladhara up.

The Sahasrara chakra is above all the other Chakras. It is at this Chakra that one gets the Nirvana or Realisation or Jnana as Yogis call it.

The Bija mantras for these chakras are Lam, Ram, Vam. Yam, Ham and AUM respectively from Mooladhara upwards. When pronouncing the Bijas, A in the middle should be pronounced as U as in BUT and not as OO as in PUT.

Each Chakra has its own Devata or God who pontificates them. Each Chakra controls various functions of the body in different parts. They are not required to be studied for the present and we will come to that part at a later stage.

Normally every day one breathes 21600 times. These breaths are divided and end in all these charkas in certain numbers. This is to appease the appetite of the gods that reside or preside over these chakras.

Now we will see the effects of mediation on these charkas during the practice in our next article (To be continued.)

Related Pages
Meditation Techniques

Yogacharya R Venkatachalam Iyer (mumukshuiyer) was born in 1934 at Parur, Kerala, India. He started Yoga at the age of 14 years. He received training in Suryanamaskara from S.P Iyer of Bangalore, India and Yoga from Sundaram of Bangalore, India. He received advance training at Sivanandashram, Rishikesh and Bihar Institute of Yoga, Munger. He took Karma Diksha from Brahmasri Niranjananda Saraswati Swami Maharaj

If you feel inspired by this article, feel free to publish it in your Newsletter or on your Website. Our humble request is to please include the Resource Box as follows:


Courtesy: http://www.healthandyoga.com A popular website that helps you find natural solutions for complete health and detoxification.

Discover health and beauty…. Naturally!!

Your Cart  Cart Items(0)

Get Article Alerts

By e-Mail :

RSSGoogle PlusMy MSN
My Yahoobloglines
   © Copyright 2000 - 2018, HealthAndYoga.com. All rights reserved Disclaimer
Login close
Forget Password